Skip to content

Florida CDL Handbook

The complete Florida Commercial Driver's License handbook — study with audio, PDF, and interactive eBook formats.

13 sections·327 pages· ~400 min read·

Choose Your Format

Table of Contents

  1. §1Introduction
    Introduction
  2. §2Driving Safely
    Driving Safely
  3. §3Transporting Cargo Safely
    Transporting Cargo Safely
  4. §4Transporting Passengers Safely
    Transporting Passengers Safely
  5. §5Air Brakes
    Air Brakes
  6. §6Combination Vehicles
    Combination Vehicles
  7. §7Doubles and Triples
    Doubles and Triples
  8. §8Tank Vehicles
    Tank Vehicles
  9. §9Hazardous Materials
    Hazardous Materials
  10. §10School Buses
    School Buses
  11. §11Vehicle Inspection Test
    Vehicle Inspection Test
  12. §12Basic Control Skills Test
    Basic Control Skills Test
  13. §13On-road Driving
    On-road Driving

Section 1 of 13

Introduction

Introduction

CDL manual figure

Disclaimer

The Florida Commercial Driver License Manual contains many condensed and paraphrased points of Florida law. It also provides safety advice that is not specifically addressed in the laws. The manual is an informational guide. Legal authority is found in Chapters 316, 318, and 322, Florida Statutes.

Warning

Florida law prohibits using a false name, making a false statement, concealing a material fact or otherwise using fraud in an application for a driver license or ID card. The penalty can be up to five years in prison, a $5,000 fine and suspension of any existing driving privilege for at least one year. In addition to Florida law, federal regulations specify that any person who is convicted of a crime committed in connection with the testing and issuance of a commercial driver license or a commercial learner permit will be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a period of one year. It is illegal to permit or authorize an unlicensed person to drive a motor vehicle. Doing so can result in a 60-day jail sentence and a $500 fine for the person who authorizes it. If the vehicle is involved in a crash resulting in bodily injury or death of any person, the person who permitted the unlicensed person to drive shall have his/her license suspended for one year.

Public Records

Florida law requires the FLHSMV to collect certain personal information during the licensing process. This information, which identifies licensed individuals, is used for records management, driver improvement, financial responsibility and law enforcement purposes. If you do not provide the required information, you will not receive a driver license or ID card. Florida’s Public Records Laws makes all records made or received by FLHSMV in the course of its official business available for inspection, unless specifically exempted by law. Your personal information, including name, address and driver license number is exempt from public disclosure, but may be given to law enforcement agencies and other entities permitted by law. Your medical information, social security number and emergency contact information are available only as specifically authorized by law. We strive to ensure the accuracy of the information we obtain during the licensing process. If you discover any incorrect information, please call (850) 617-2702. You may also mail your request with your complete name, date of birth, driver license number, information about the error, and any related documentation. All correspondence should be mailed to: Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, Bureau of Records, 2900 Apalachee Parkway MS 89, Tallahassee, FL 32399. Please note, some information, such as reports of convictions received from a court, can only be corrected if notifications are received from the court that the report was in error.

Florida CDL Handbook 2022

i As of the printing of this handbook, the following legislation has passed the Florida Legislature and is contingent upon becoming law, or further action taken by the Governor.

SB 144 – Identification Cards • An original, renewal, or replacement ID card may be issued at no fee to any applicant who presents a valid Florida voter registration card can attest that they are experiencing a financial hardship. • An identification card may be issued at no fee to an applicant who is 80 years of age or older and whose driving privilege has been denied due to not passing the required vision exam. • FLHSMV will cancel the applicant’s valid driver’s license upon issuance of the ID card. • The applicant must still provide Real ID documents if they are not already Real ID compliant. SB 364 – Specialty License Plates • Creates eight new specialty license plates and one specialty motorcycle plate. More information is available at: flhsmv.gov/personalized-specialtylicense-plates. • Extends presale period for two years for plates currently in the presale process and reduces the threshold for out-of-state specialty plates. • Reduces the cap on the number of specialty plates from 150 to 135. SB 474 – Recreational Off-Highway Vehicles • Increases the dry weight allowed for recreational off-highway vehicles from 2,500 pounds to 3,500 pounds. HB 749 – Fraud Prevention display vehicle insurance information, notify of any lapse in insurance coverage, and allow individuals to update policy information. SB 754 – Mobile Home Registration Periods • Beginning September 1, 2023, the registration period for mobile homes owned by natural persons to the owner’s birth month. SB 914 – Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles • Requires an operator of a motor vehicle to provide proof of insurance upon the request of a law enforcement officer (previously applied only to drivers who were also registered owners). • Provides a fee exemption for a surviving spouse transferring a motor vehicle title solely into their name when only the deceased spouse is named on the title. • Prohibits individuals who have registration stops from replacing their license plate until they have satisfied the underlying stop. • Beginning November 1, 2023, driver licenses and identification card numbers will include four randomly generated digits. HB 915 – Commercial Motor Vehicle Registration • Beginning July 1, 2024, FLHSMV will issue apportionable license plates, for commercial motor vehicles that travel across state borders. License plates are valid for a 3-year period. Registration remains valid for one year.

PENDING FLORIDA STATUTE CHANGES FOR 2022

• Requires FLHSMV to include vehicle registration and insurance information into the mobile driver license (Florida Smart ID). The digital credential must

ii For as long as there have been roadways and motorized vehicles in Florida, commercial transportation has played a key role in the lives of our citizens.

CDL manual figure

From the thousands of 18-wheelers responsible for supporting our economy and way of life to the fleets of buses that many of our people rely on for transit services, commercial transportation has proven to be absolutely vital to our wonderful state. Florida would not be such a great destination it is if not for the many contributions of commercial vehicles. We here at the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles are devoted to achieving our vision of A Safer Florida. That means proactively protecting our roadways, enhancing our online services, increasing strategic relationships with stakeholders, improving customer service, measuring critical business indicators and managing based on those results. It also means educating those who would operate motor vehicles on our roads and highways. This manual provides some basic information you will need to be a safe driver and understand traffic laws and regulations – including those that originate here in Florida, as well as those on the federal level. The knowledge you take from this publication, along with your driving experience and sense of responsibility while driving, will help protect you, your family, your friends and other highway users. As a department, we will continue to make doing business with us easier, faster and better. Safe and considerate driving is everyone’s responsibility, and we wish you many years of happy and safe driving.

Robert Kynoch, Director Division of Motorist Services

Message from the Director

i Customer Service Center ................................................................................. (850) 617-2000 FLHSMV Official Website ......................................................................................... flhsmv.gov Online Transactions (DHSMV Virtual Office) ........................................MyDMVPortal.flhsmv.gov Identification Requirements (for obtaining a credential) .......................... flhsmv.gov/WhatToBring To Order a Crash Report .................................................................................. (850) 617-3416 Neil Kirkman Building 2900 Apalachee Parkway Tallahassee, Florida 32399

Appointments

Appointments are recommended for any of the services provided by the driver license offices. Appointment scheduling and a listing of driver license offices are available online at: flhsmv.gov/locations. Schedule an appointment in advance and report at least five minutes before your scheduled time.

Crash Reports

Crash reports can be purchased online at www.floridacrashportal.gov. Additional fees may apply. Crash reports completed by the Florida Highway Patrol are kept in the local districts for two years from the date of the crash. Homicide reports are kept in the local district for five years from the date of the crash. •To order a crash report ($10) older than 2 years, call (850) 617-3416. •To order a traffic homicide report ($25) older than 5 years, call (850) 617-2306. •To order traffic homicide photographs, call (850) 617-3409. •Photographs are $1 for 5”x7” or $1.50 for 8”x10.” Note: When requesting photographs, have at least two of the following pieces of information available when you place your request: •Date of crash •County of crash •Name of fatality victim •Traffic homicide case number

Emergency Contact Information

If you have a Florida driver license or ID card, register your emergency contact information at the FLHSMV website flhsmv.gov. This provides law enforcement with an immediate contact in case you are involved in an emergency.

Contact Information

ii Always be prepared! The Florida 511 Traveler Information System is a toll-free service by the Florida Department of Transportation that provides real-time traffic information on crashes, travel times, congestion, lane closures, severe weather, and construction on Florida’s interstates, toll roads, and other major metropolitan roadways. There are four convenient ways for motorists to receive traffic updates:* •Call 511 (English and Spanish). •Visit FL511.com. •Download the free “Florida 511” app. •Follow any of the statewide, regional, or roadway-specific feeds on Twitter. * Use these resources before driving—or when pulled over in a safe place such as a rest area— not while operating a motor vehicle. Dial ∗FHP (∗347) to report impaired drivers or dangerous road conditions.

Florida Organ & Tissue Donor Program

Donate Life Florida is the non-profit organization that oversees the state’s organ, eye, and tissue donor registry. The Joshua Abbott Organ & Tissue Donor Registry allows Floridians to join the state’s organ and tissue donor registry when obtaining/renewing their license at a local driver license/tax collector office. DonateLifeFlorida.org 1-877-FL-SHARE

Florida’s Move Over Law

The Move Over Law protects law enforcement officers, emergency workers, tow truck drivers, sanitation workers, utility workers and road and bridge maintenance or construction vehicles displaying warning lights stopped along roadways while performing their jobs. On a Multi-Lane Roadway •You must vacate the lane closest to the stationary law enforcement, emergency vehicle, tow truck, sanitation, or utility vehicle. (Signal your intention to change lanes.) •If you cannot move over safely, you must slow down to a speed of 20 MPH below the posted speed limit. •Drivers who are not in the lane closest to the stationary vehicle should be prepared to allow those who are about to move over into their lane. On a Two-Lane Roadway •You must slow down to a speed of 20 MPH below the posted speed limit. •If the speed limit is 20 MPH or less, you must travel at 5 MPH.

Florida 511 Traffic Info

iii ELDT regulations set the minimum Federal requirements for training that entry-level drivers must complete before being permitted to take certain commercial driver’s license (CDL) skills or knowledge tests on or after February 7, 2022. Who is considered an entry-level driver? Individuals applying to: •Obtain a Class A CDL or Class B CDL for the first time; •Upgrade an existing Class B CDL to a Class A CDL; •Obtain a school bus (S), passenger (P), or hazardous materials (H) endorsement for the first time. For additional information, please see: www.fmcsa.dot.gov/registration/commercial-drivers-license/entry-level-driver-training-eldt

School Bus Waiver

Due to a shortage of school bus drivers, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) granted a waiver of certain testing requirements for school bus drivers. This waiver covers states for the period of January 3, 2022, through September 30, 2022, and may be extended. Florida began using this waiver on February 16, 2022. Under this waiver, the engine compartment portion of the pre-trip inspection skills test may be waived for persons seeking the (S) - School Bus endorsement. Persons issued a CDL under this waiver must be restricted to both (U) - School Bus Only and (K) - Intrastate Only. In order to remove the School Bus Only restriction a driver will be required to successfully complete a skills test that includes the engine compartment portion of the Pre-trip Inspection.

Check Out All You Can Do At flhsmv.gov!

✓ Renew your vehicle registration ✓ Check personalized plate availability ✓ Register emergency contact info ✓ Update your insurance information ✓ Find locations of motor vehicle ✓ Find third-party exam providers service centers ✓ Submit a question (Answered in 2 ✓ Access driving history of your teen business days) ✓ Check your driver license ✓ Download driver license handbooks ✓ Track your driver license or ID card ✓ Check your driving school eligibility order status ✓ Update your address ✓ Verify driving school status ✓ Obtain an electronic title

Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT)

iv COPYRIGHT © 2005 AAMVA. All rights reserved This material has been created for and provided to State Driver License Agencies (SDLAs) by AAMVA for the purpose of educating Driver License applicants (Commercial or Non-Commercial). Permission to reproduce, use, distribute or sell this material has been granted to SDLAs only. No part of this book may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording, or by any information storage and retrieval system without express written permission from the author / publisher. Any unauthorized reprint, use, distribution or sale of this material is prohibited.

This material is based upon work supported by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety

Administration under Cooperative Agreement No. DTFH61-97-X-00017. Any

opinions, findings, conclusions or recommendations expressed in this

publication are those of the Author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the view of

the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.

CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure

In January 2015, an RV pulled into a truck stop in Virginia. Observant professional truck driver Kevin Kimmel recognized suspicious activity around that RV, which had pulled back by the truck line, and decided something was off. Instead of turning a blind eye, he made a call that brought law enforcement out to the scene within a few minutes. After interviewing the occupants of the vehicle, they discovered that a young woman, 20 years old, had been kidnapped from Iowa two weeks prior. She had been beaten, raped, her whole body burned by instruments heated on the RV stove, branded and starved. She was being sold by her traffickers, Laura Sorenson and Aldair Hodza, through sex ads on Craigslist, where men were purchasing her and then arriving at the RV to rape her. She was dying from malnutrition and the torture she was subjected to … had the call not been made that brought law enforcement out to that truck stop, doctors said she would have died within the next few days. Now a recovering survivor, this young woman calls Kimmel her guardian angel. He calls himself a Trucker Against Trafficking. Truckers Against Trafficking is a non-profit organization that has been working with the trucking industry since 2009 to provide the needed training and tools to enable members of the industry to both recognize human trafficking when they see it happening and to know what actions to take to enable law enforcement to effectively fight this crime. Through this training and these tools, truckers are becoming Everyday Heroes like Kevin Kimmel, who was also named TAT’s 2015 Harriet Tubman Award winner.

CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure

One of the tools TAT provides is a wallet card with red flags to look for, questions to ask if you suspect someone is a victim and actionable information to report. This wallet card is available by App, from the appropriate App Store, on all smart phones, whether Android, iPhone or Windows format, as well as by emailing tat.truckers@gmail.com, for a version to carry in your wallet. Additionally, TAT provides a powerful, 26-minute training video on its website (www.truckersagainsttrafficking.org), which, when watched along with taking and passing a short test, certifies drivers as TAT-Trained, a designation which can go on your resume. Because professional drivers often find themselves in locations frequented and exploited by human traffickers, they are in a unique position to recognize the signs of human trafficking and to make the call that can lead to victim recovery and perpetrator arrests. Get your wallet card today. Be an Everyday Hero! Make the call (1-888-3737-888); save lives!

CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure

Table of Contents

Introduction ......................................................................................................................................... 1-1

Driving Safely ................................................................................................................................... 2-1

Transporting Cargo Safely ............................................................................................... 3-1

Transporting Passengers Safely ............................................................................... 4-1

Air Brakes ............................................................................................................................................. 5-1

Combination Vehicles ............................................................................................................ 6-1

Doubles and Triples ................................................................................................................. 7-1

Tank Vehicles .................................................................................................................................. 8-1

Hazardous Materials ................................................................................................................ 9-1

School Bus ........................................................................................................................................ 10-1

Vehicle Vehicle Inspection ............................................................................................. 11-1

Basic Vehicle Control Skills Test ............................................................................ 12-1

On-Road Driving ......................................................................................................................... 13-1

CDL manual figure
CDL manual figure

•Commercial Driver License Tests •Medical Requirements •Driver Disqualifications •Other Safety Rules •International Registration Program There is a federal requirement that each state have minimum standards for the licensing of commercial drivers. This manual provides driver license testing information for drivers who wish to have a commercial driver license (CDL). This manual does NOT provide information on all the federal and state requirements needed before you can drive a commercial motor vehicle (CMV). You may have to contact your state driver licensing authority for additional information. You must have a CDL to operate: Any single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 26,001 pounds or more. A combination vehicle with a gross combination weight rating (GCWR) of 26,001 or more pounds, provided the GVWR of the vehicle(s) being towed is in excess of 10,000 pounds. A vehicle designed to transport 16 or more passengers (including the driver). Any size vehicle which requires hazardous material placards or is carrying material listed as a select agent or toxin in 42 CFR part 73. Federal regulations through the Department of Homeland Security require a background check and fingerprinting for the Hazardous Materials endorsement. Contact your local department of driver licensing for more information. (Your state may have additional definitions of CMVs.) CDL Classifications The CDL vehicle classification included in the federal standard, together with the type of cargo to be transported, determine what type of CDL license and endorsement an applicant must apply for. There are three basic vehicle classes or groups: Class B Heavy Straight Vehicles. Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 or more pounds falls in Group B, or any such vehicle towing another vehicle not in excess of 10,000 pounds GVWR. Class B includes straight trucks and large buses, including articulated buses. Safely driving these heavy vehicles requires considerably more knowledge and skill than driving the small trucks and buses found in Class C. Since they include the skills required to drive Class C vehicles, drivers who have qualified for a Class B license may also drive vehicles in Class C. Class C Small Vehicles. Any single vehicle with a GVWR less than 26,001 pounds falls in Group C, or any such vehicle towing another vehicle not in excess of 10,000 pounds GVWR. However, vehicles of this size are included in the CDL program only if they are: 1) Designed to carry 16 or more passengers including the driver, or (2) Used to transport hazardous materials in quantities requiring placarding under the Hazardous Materials Regulations (49 CFR Part 172, Subpart F) or is carrying material listed as a select agent or toxin in 42 CFR part 73. There are a great variety of vehicles in Class C. Some rather large Class C vehicles may require more skill and knowledge to operate than do the smaller ones. However, the licensing category is based principally on the type of cargo carried. Because of the seriousness of an accident involving hazardous material or human passengers, the safe operation of even the smaller vehicles in Class C requires special knowledge and the drivers of these vehicles must have a CDL. STATE OPTIONS: Some states may include more drivers and vehicles in their CDL programs. For example, in some states, a CDL may be required for buses designed to carry fewer than 16 passengers. Going beyond the federal standard is acceptable and the state will need to decide which battery of tests applies to these drivers, or develop a new battery.

INTRODUCTION

This Section Covers Class A Combination Vehicles. Any combination of vehicles with gross combination weight rating (GCWR) of 26,001 or more pounds falls in Group A provided the GVWR of the vehicle(s) being towed is more than 10,000 pounds. Most Class A vehicles are trucks such as truck-tractor/semi-trailer or truck and trailer combinations. However, tractor-trailer buses may be found in a few communities. Driving a Class A vehicle requires considerably more skill and knowledge than driving vehicles in Classes B and C. Since these skills include those required to drive a B and C vehicle, a driver who has a Class A license also may drive vehicles in Classes B and C. Endorsements All commercial drivers who drive certain types of vehicles or haul certain types of cargo must add endorsements to their CDL license and/or Commercial Learner’s Permit (CLP) to show that they have the specialized knowledge required for these operations. There are six kinds of CDL endorsements that may be required, depending on the vehicle or type of cargo. NOTE: The only endorsements that may be added to a Commercial Learner’s Permit (CLP) are: - Passenger (P); - School bus (S); and - Tank vehicle (N). Double and Triple Trailers (T). Many drivers who are qualified to drive Class A vehicles may wish to pull double or triple trailers. Research shows that considerable additional knowledge and skill is necessary to safely pull double and triple trailers in various traffic conditions and driving environments. Consequently, adding the endorsement to the licenses of Class A drivers is necessary if they wish to pull double or triple trailers. A special knowledge examination on the problems associated with pulling multiple trailers must be passed. Tank Vehicle (N). Drivers ofany commercial motor vehicle that is designed to transport any liquid or gaseous materials within a tank or tanks having an individual rated capacity of more than 119 gallons and an aggregate rated capacity of 1,000 gallons or more that is either permanently or temporarily attached to the vehicle or the chassis must obtain this endorsement.Applies to Class A, B and C (only applicable to Class C if the vehicle is hauling hazardous materials) vehicles. Liquids in bulk cause driving control problems because the cargo is heavy, prone to shifting, and has a high center of gravity. These drivers must pass a special knowledge examination on the problems posed by large volume liquid cargos to add the endorsement to their CDL/CLP. Passengers (P). Drivers who wish to drive a vehicle having a design capacity to carry 16 or more people, including the driver, must add a passenger endorsement to their CDL/CLP. They must pass a special knowledge examination on safety considerations when transporting passengers and must pass skills tests in a passenger vehicle. The endorsement applies to applicants who wish to drive a bus in any class (A, B, or C). The Transportation Security Administration (TSA) and the US Department of Transportation require background checks on commercial drivers who are certified to transport hazardous materials. The background checks include a review of criminal, immigration and FBI records. If the driver is found to represent a security threat, TSA will notify the person and the state will deny issuance of an endorsement. Combination Hazardous Materials and Tank Vehicle (X). Drivers of tank vehicles who haul hazardous materials or waste in amounts requiring placards must add an X endorsement to their CDL, showing that they have passed the special knowledge examinations for both tank vehicles and hazardous materials. School Buses (S). Drivers who wish to drive a school bus, must add a school bus endorsement to their CDL/CLP. They must pass a special knowledge examination on safety considerations when transporting passengers in a school bus and must pass skills tests in a school bus. The endorsement applies to applicants who wish to drive a school bus in any class (A, B, or C). In addition to these six required endorsements, states may add special endorsements of their own as they see fit. Restrictions Restrictions may be added to Commercial Driver Licenses/Permits based upon the type of vehicle and equipment that the driver uses for the Skills Test. There are ten standardized restriction codes. NOTE: If a CLP is issued with a Passenger (P) or a School Bus (S) endorsement, it must also contain a (P) – No passengers in a CMV bus restriction. If a CLP is issued with a Tanker (N) endorsement, it must also contain a (X) – No cargo in a CMV tank vehicle. CDL Endorsements & Restrictions Hazardous Materials (H). Any driver, regardless of the vehicle Class/Group (A, B, or C) who wishes to haul any material that has been designated as hazardous under 49 U.S.C. 5103 and is required to be placarded under subpart F of 49 CFR part 172; or any quantity of a material listed as a select agent or toxin 42 CFR Part 73 must add a hazardous materials endorsement to their CDL. S/he must pass a special written examination on how to recognize, handle, and transport hazardous materials. (K) - Intrastate only: If an applicantcertifies their status as either Non-Excepted Intrastate or Excepted Intrastate, the state must indicate on the CDL, if issued, that person is restricted from operating a CMV in interstate commerce. States may impose this restriction for reasons other than those specified above. (L) - No Air brake equipped CMV: If an applicant does not take or fails the air brake component of the knowledge test, or performs the skills test in a vehicle not equipped with air brakes, the State must indicate on the CLP or CDL, if issued, that the person is restricted from operating a CMV equipped with any type of air brakes. For the purposes of the skills test and the restriction, air brakes include any braking system operating fully or partially on the air brake principle. (M) - No Class A passenger vehicle: If an applicant applying for a passenger endorsement performs the skills test in a passenger vehicle requiring a Group B CDL, the State must indicate on the CDL, if issued, that the person is restricted from operating a passenger vehicle requiring a Group A CDL. (N) - No Class A and B passenger vehicle: If an applicant applying for a passenger endorsement performs the skills test in a passenger vehicle requiring a Group C CDL, the State must indicate on the CDL, if issued, that the person is restricted from operating a passenger vehicle requiring a Group A or B CDL (O) - No tractor trailer CMV: If an applicant performs the skills test in a combination vehicle for a Group A CDL with the power unit and towed unit connected with a pintle hook or other non-fifth wheel connection, the State must indicate on the CDL, if issued, that the person is restricted from operating a tractor-trailer combination connected by a fifth wheel that requires a Group A CDL. An applicant who passes a skills test using a combination vehicle that is NOT a Truck Tractor Semi-Trailer combination, but is otherwise equipped with a fifth wheel, will be issued a CDL with an “O” restriction. A CLP holder with a S endorsement is prohibited from operating a school bus with passengers, other than Federal/State auditors and inspectors, test examiners, other trainees, and the CDL holder accompanying the CLP holder as prescribed by § CFR 383.25(a)(1) of this part. (V) - Medical Variance: If the State is notified according to § 383.73(o)(3) that the driver has been issued a medical variance, the State must indicate the existence of such a medical variance on the CDLIS driver record and the CDL document, if issued, using the restriction code ‘‘V’’ to indicate there is information about a medical variance on the CDLIS driver record. (X) - No cargo in CMV tank vehicle: A CLP holder with an N endorsement may only operate an empty tank vehicle and is prohibited from operating any tank vehicle that previously contained hazardous materials that has not been purged of any residue. (Z) - No full air brake equipped CMV: If an applicant performs the skills test in a vehicle equipped with air over hydraulic brakes, the State must indicate on the CDL, if issued, that the person is restricted from operating a CMV equipped with any braking system operating fully on the air brake principle. For the purposes of the skills test and the restriction, air over hydraulic brakes includes any braking system operating partially on the air brake and partially on the hydraulic brake principle. Any additional jurisdictional restrictions that apply to the CLP driving privilege. To Get a CDL or CLP To get a CDL or CLP, you must pass knowledge and skills tests. This manual will help you pass the tests, however, it is not a substitute for a truck driver training class or program. Formal training is the most reliable way to learn the many special skills required for safely driving a large commercial vehicle and becoming a professional driver in the trucking industry. Figure 1.1 helps you determine if you need a CDL (E) - No manual transmission. If an applicant performs the skills test in a vehicle equipped with an automatic transmission, the State must indicate on the CDL, if issued, that the person is restricted from operating a CMV equipped with a manual transmission. For the purposes of the skills test and the restriction, an automatic transmission includes any transmission not operating fully on the gear shift and clutch principle. (P) - No passengers in CMV bus: A CLP holder with a P endorsement is prohibited from operating a CMV carrying passengers, other than Federal/State auditors and inspectors, test examiners, other trainees, and the CDL holder accompanying the CLP holder as prescribed by § CFR 383.25(a)(1) of this part.

CDL manual figure

Figure 1.1 NOTE: A bus may be Class A, B, or C depending on whether the GVWR is over 26,001 pounds or is a combination vehicle. The general knowledge test, taken by all applicants. The passenger transport test, taken by all bus driver applicants. The air brakes test, which you must take if your vehicle has air brakes, including air over hydraulic brakes. The combination vehicles test, which is required if you want to drive combination vehicles.

| What Sections Should You Study? | | | | | | | | | |

| | | LICENSE TYPE | | | ENDORSEMENT | | | | |

| | | Class A | Class B | Class C | Hazardous Materials | Double / Triple | Tank Vehicles | Passenger | School Bus |

Sections to Study | | 1 | X | X | X | | | | | |

| | 2 | X | X | X | | X | X | X | |

| | 3 | X | X | X | | | | | |

| | 4 | | | | | | | X | |

| | 5* | X | X | X | | X | | | |

| | 6 | X | | | | X | X | | |

| | 7 | | | | | X | | | |

| | 8 | | | | | | X | | |

| | 9 | | | | X | | X | | |

| | 10 | | | | | | | | X |

| | 11 | X | X | X | | | | X | X |

| | 12 | X | X | X | | | | X | X |

| | 13 | X | X | X | | | | X | X |

*Study section 5 if you plan to operate vehicles equipped with air brakes. | | | | | | | | | | |

The hazardous materials test, required if you want to haul hazardous materials as defined in 49 CFR 383.5. In order to obtain this endorsement you are also required to pass a Transportation Security Administration (TSA) background check. The tank vehicle test, required if you want to haul any liquid or gaseous materials in a tank or tanks having an individual rated capacity of more than 119 gallons and an aggregate rated capacity of 1,000 gallons or more that is either permanently or temporarily attached to the vehicle or chassis The doubles/triples test, required if you want to pull double or triple trailers. The School Bus test, required if you want to drive a school bus. 1.1.2 – Skills Tests If you pass the required knowledge test(s), you can take the CDL skills testwhen you are eligible. The CDL Skills Test consists of three segments: Vehicle inspection, basic vehicle control, and on-road driving. You must take the segments in the order listed and must pass each one before moving to the next. You must take these tests in the type of vehicle for which you wish to be licensed. Any vehicle that has components marked or labeled cannot be used for the CDL Skills Test. Vehicle Inspection. You will be tested to see if you know whether your vehicle is safe to drive. You will be asked to do a Vehicle inspection of your vehicle. You must point to/touch and name the item you are inspecting and explain to the examiner what you would inspect and why. Basic Vehicle Control. You will be tested on your skill to control the vehicle. You will be asked to move your vehicle forward, backward, and turn it within a 1.1 – Commercial Driver License Tests 1.1.1 – Knowledge Tests You will have to take one or more knowledge tests, depending on what class of license and what endorsements you need. The CDL knowledge tests include: defined area. These areas may be marked with traffic lanes, cones, barriers, or something similar. The examiner will tell you how each control test is to be done. On-road Test. You will be tested on your skill to safely drive your vehicle in a variety of traffic situations. The situations may include left and right turns, intersections, railroad crossings, curves, up and down grades, single or multi-lane roads, streets, or highways. Special test procedures apply to railroad crossings in Florida.The examiner will tell you where to drive. Figure 1.2 details which sections of this manual you should study for each particular class of license and for each endorsement.

Figure 1.2 – What to Study Starting January 30, 2012 and no later than January 30, 2014, if you are applying for a CDL Permit; or are renewing, upgrading, adding endorsements to a CDL; or transferring a CDL from another state, you are required to provide information to your State Driver’s License Agency (SDLA) regarding the type of commercial motor vehicle operation you drive in or expect to drive in with your CDL. Drivers operating in certain types of commerce will be required to submit a current medical examiner’s certificate and/or any medical variance documents that you have been issued (i.e. Vision, Skills Performance or Diabetic waivers, or other exemptions) to your SDLA to obtain a “certified” medical status as part of your driving record. You must contact your State Driver Licensing Agency (SDLA) to obtain information regarding the requirement for submitting these documents. If you are required to have a ”certified” medical status and fail to provide and keep up-to-date your medical examiner’s certificate you become ”not-certified” and may lose your CDL. For the purpose of complying with the new requirements for medical certification, it is important to know how you are using the CMV. The following information will help you decide how to self-certify: 1.2.1 – Interstate or Intrastate Commerce Do you, or will you, use a CDL to operate a CMV in interstate or intrastate commerce? Interstate commerce is when you drive a CMV: From one State to another State or a foreign country; Between two places within a State, but during part of the trip, the CMV crosses into another State or foreign country; or Between two places within a State, but the cargo or passengers are part of a trip that began or will end in another State or foreign country. Intrastate commerce is when you drive a CMV within a State and you do not meet any of the descriptions above for interstate commerce. If you operate in both intrastate commerce and interstate commerce, you must choose interstate commerce. Once you decide whether you will operate in interstate commerce or intrastate commerce, you must decide whether you will operate (or expect to operate) in a non-excepted or excepted status. This decision will tell you to which of the four types of commerce you must self-certify. Interstate Commerce: You operate in excepted interstate commerce when you drive a CMV in interstate commerce only for the following excepted activities: To transport school children and/or school staff between home and school; As Federal, State or local government employees; To transport human corpses or sick or injured persons; Fire truck or rescue vehicle drivers during emergencies and other related activities; Primarily in the transportation of propane winter heating fuel when responding to an emergency condition requiring immediate response such as damage to a propane gas system after a storm or flooding; In Response to a pipeline emergency condition requiring immediate response such as a pipeline leak or rupture; In custom harvesting on a farm or to transport farm machinery and supplies used in the custom harvesting operation to and from a farm or to transport custom harvested crops to storage or market; Beekeeper in the seasonal transportation of bees; Controlled and operated by a farmer, but is not a combination vehicle (power unit and towed unit), and is used to transport agricultural products, farm machinery or farm supplies (no placardable hazardous materials) to and from a farm and within 150 air-miles of the farm; As a private motor carrier of passengers for non-business purposes; or To transport migrant workers. If you answered yes to one or more of the above activities as the only operation in which you drive, you operate in excepted interstate commerce and do not need a Federal medical examiner’s certificate. 1.2 – Medical Documentation Requirements 1.2.2 – Inter/Intrastate Commerce: Status Non-excepted or Excepted?

If you operate in both excepted interstate commerce and non-excepted interstate commerce, you must choose non-excepted interstate commerce to be qualified to operate in both types of interstate commerce. Intrastate Commerce: You operate in excepted Intrastate commerce when you drive a CMV only in intrastate commerce activities for which your State of licensure has determined do not require you to meet the State’s medical certification requirements. (contact your SDLA about their requirements). You operate in non-excepted intrastate commerce when you drive a CMV only in intrastate commerce and are required to meet your State of licensure’s medical certification requirements (contact your SDLA about their requirements). If you operate in both excepted intrastate commerce and non-excepted intrastate commerce, you must choose non-excepted intrastate commerce. 1.2.3 – Self-Certification Statements When completing an application for your CDL, you will be required to check the box next to the statement that describes your status. The actual statements on your application may vary from those shown below:

Interstate non-excepted: I certify that I operate or expect to operate in interstate commerce, that I am subject to and meet the Federal DOT medical card requirements under 49 CFR part 391; and that I am required to obtain a medical examiner’s certificate. Interstate excepted: I certify that I operate or expect to operate in interstate commerce, but engage exclusively in transportation or operations excepted under 49 CFR §§390.3(f), 391.2, 391.68 or 398.3 from all or parts of the qualification requirements of 49 CFR part 391; and that I am not required to obtain a medical examiner’s certificate. Intrastate excepted: I certify that I operate or expect to operate entirely in intrastate commerce, that I am not subject to the medical requirements for my State; and that I am not required to obtain a medical examiner’s certificate.

1.3 - CDL Disqualifications

1.3.1 – General

You may not drive a commercial motor vehicle if you are disqualified for any reason. Circumstances causing disqualification are listed in Chapter 322.61, Florida Statutes. They include but are not limited to: 1.3.2 – Alcohol, Leaving the Scene of an Accident, and Commission of a Felony It is illegal to operate a CMV if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .04% or more. If you operate a CMV, you shall be deemed to have given your consent to alcohol testing. You will lose your CDL for at least one year for a first offense for: Driving a CMV if your blood alcohol concentration is .04% or higher. Driving a CMV under the influence of alcohol. Refusing to undergo blood alcohol testing. Driving a CMV while under the influence of a controlled substance. Leaving the scene of an accident involving a CMV. Committing a felony involving the use of a CMV. Driving a CMV when the CDL is suspended. Causing a fatality through negligent operation of a CMV. You will lose your CDL for at least three years if the offense occurs while you are operating a CMV that is placarded for hazardous materials. You will lose your CDL for life for a second offense. Intrastate non-excepted: I certify that I operate If you answered no to all of the above activities, you operate in non-excepted interstate commerce and are required to provide a current medical examiner’s certificate (49 CFR 391.45),commonly referred to as a medical certificate or DOT card, to your State Driver Licensing Agency (SDLA). Most CDL holders who drive CMVs in interstate commerce are non-excepted interstate commerce drivers. or expect to operate entirely in intrastate commerce, that I am subject to and meet the medical requirements for my State; and that I am required to obtain a medical examiner’s certificate.

For at least 60 days if you have committed two serious traffic violations within a three-year period involving a CMV. For at least 120 days for three or more serious traffic violations within a three-year period involving a CMV. 1.3.4 – Violation of Out-of-Service Orders You will lose your CDL: [For at least 90 days if you have committed your first violation of an out-of-service order. For at least one year if you have committed two violations of an out-of-service order in a ten-year period. For at least three years if you have committed three or more violations of an out-of-service order in a ten-year period]. 1.3.5 – Railroad-highway Grade Crossing Violations You will lose your CDL: For at least 60 days for your first violation. For at least 120 days for your second violation within a three-year period. For at least one year for your third violation within a three-year period. These violations include violation of a federal, state or local law or regulation pertaining to one of the following six offenses at a railroad-highway grade crossing: For drivers who are not required to always stop, failing to slow down and check that the tracks are clear of an approaching train. For drivers who are always required to stop, failing to stop before driving onto the crossing. For all drivers failing to have sufficient space to drive completely through the crossing without stopping. For all drivers failing to obey a traffic control device or the directions of an enforcement official at the crossing. For all drivers failing to negotiate a crossing because of insufficient undercarriage clearance. 1.3.6 – Hazardous Materials Endorsement Background Check and Disqualifications If you require a hazardous materials endorsement you will be required to submit your fingerprints and be subject to a background check. You will be denied or you will lose your hazardous materials endorsement if you: Are not a lawful permanent resident of the United States. Renounce your United States citizenship. Are wanted or under indictment for certain felonies. Have a conviction in military or civilian court for certain felonies. Have been adjudicated as lacking mental capacity or have been involuntarily committed to a mental health facility as specified in §1572.109. Are considered to pose a security threat as determined by the Transportation Security Administration. The background check procedures vary from jurisdiction to jurisdiction. Your licensing agency will provide you with all the information you need to complete the required TSA background check procedures.

Florida CDL’s with a hazardous materials endorsement are issued for a period of 4 years and may be renewed up to 1 year before they expire. Drivers holding a CDL with a hazardous materials endorsement are encouraged to renew early to avoid ineligibility for transporting hazardous materials while awaiting results of their security checks. You will lose your CDL for life if you use a CMV to commit a felony involving controlled substances. You will be put out-of-service for 24 hours if you have any detectable amount of alcohol under .04%. 1.3.3 – Serious Traffic Violations Serious traffic violations are excessive speeding (15 mph or more above the posted limit), reckless driving, improper or erratic lane changes, following a vehicle too closely, traffic offenses committed in a CMV in connection with fatal traffic accidents, driving a CMV without obtaining a CDL or having a CDL in the driver’s possession, and driving a CMV without the proper class of CDL and/or endorsements. You will lose your CDL: For drivers who are not required to always stop, failing to stop before reaching the crossing if the tracks are not clear.

www.flhsmv.gov/Hazmat.

1.3.7 – Traffic Violations in Your Personal

Vehicle The Motor Carrier Safety Improvement Act (MCSIA) of 1999 requires a CDL holder to be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle if the CDL holder has been convicted of certain types of moving violations in their personal vehicle. If your privilege to operate your personal vehicle is revoked, cancelled, or suspended due to alcohol, controlled substance or felony violations, you will lose your CDL for 1 year. If you are convicted of a second violation in your personal vehicle or CMV you will lose your CDL for life. If your license to operate your personal vehicle is revoked, cancelled, or suspended you may not obtain a “hardship” license to operate a CMV.

1.4 – Other CDL Rules

There are other federal and state rules that affect drivers operating CMVs in all states. Among them are: You cannot have more than one license. If you break this rule, a court may fine you up to $5,000 or put you in jail and keep your home state license and return any others. You must notify your employer within 30 days of conviction for any traffic violations (except parking). This is true no matter what type of vehicle you were driving. You must notify your motor vehicle licensing agency within 30 days if you are convicted in any other jurisdiction of any traffic violation (except parking). This is true no matter what type of vehicle you were driving. You must notify the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles within 30 days if you are convicted in any other jurisdiction of any traffic violation (except parking). This is true no matter what type of vehicle you were driving. The written notification must be mailed to Bureau of Driver Records, Neil Kirkman Building, 2900 Apalachee Parkway, Mail Stop 91, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0575. You must notify your employer within two business days if your license is suspended, revoked, or canceled, or if you are disqualified from driving. You must give your employer information on all driving jobs you have held for the past 10 years. You must do this when you apply for a commercial driving job. No one can drive a commercial motor vehicle without a CDL. A court may fine you up to $5,000 or put you in jail for breaking this rule. A background check fee of $91.00 is charged to customers for new or renewed hazardous materials endorsements, in addition to other fees for CDL issuance. Information and on-line forms to begin the application process for Florida CDL hazardous materials endorsement can be found at If your privilege to operate your personal vehicle is revoked, cancelled, or suspended due to violations of traffic control laws (other than parking violations) you will also lose your CDL driving privileges.

Your employer may not let you drive a commercial motor vehicle if you have more than one license or if you’re CDL is suspended or revoked. A court may fine the employer up to $5,000 or put him/her in jail for breaking this rule. All states are connected to one computerized system to share information about CDL drivers. The states will check on drivers' accident records to be sure that drivers do not have more than one CDL. You are not allowed to hold a mobile telephone to conduct a voice communication or dial a mobile telephone by pressing more than a single button when driving. You are not allowed to send or read text messages while driving. You must be properly restrained by a safety belt at all times while operating a commercial motor vehicle. The safety belt design holds the driver securely behind the wheel during a crash, helping the driver to control the vehicle and reduces the chance of serious injury or death. If you do not wear a safety belt, you are four times more likely to be fatally injured if you are thrown from the vehicle. If you have a hazardous materials endorsement you must notify and surrender your hazardous materials endorsement to the state that issued your CDL within 24 hours of any conviction or indictment in any jurisdiction, civilian or military, for, or found not guilty by reason of insanity of a disqualifying crime listed in 49 CFR 1572.103; who is adjudicated as lacking mental capacity or have been involuntarily committed to a mental institution as specified in 49 CFR 1572.109; or who renounces his or her U. S. citizenship; least 21 years of age to qualify for the hazardous materials endorsement. Hold a Florida Class E License. Surrender any and all other driver licenses issued by Florida or any other state. Not be under suspension, revocation, cancellation or disqualification in Florida or any other state. Submit a valid medical report or card, if you are required to hold this document. In Florida, this requirement includes public and private school bus drivers who must meet medical standards of the Florida Board of Education that are equal to the federal medical standards for most other CDL holders. All CDL holders must keep the status of their medical certifications up-to date in their driver records as described at: http://flhsmv.gov/ddl/cdlmedicalcert.html. Provide proof of your social security number such as the social security card itself or your W-2 Form (photocopies are not acceptable). Pass all required tests and pay the proper license fee. Must be in compliance with the vision and Physical requirements as stated in Part 391 of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations Handbook. CDL Exemptions: Drivers of the following vehicles which otherwise meet the definition of a commercial vehicle are exempt by law from having to obtain a CDL: Military Vehicles – Vehicles operated by members of the armed forces for military purposes. Authorized Emergency Vehicles – These vehicles include, but are not limited to, ambulances, law enforcement and fire trucks equipped with red and blue lights and audible devices (sirens). Farmers – Transporting farm supplies, farm machinery or agriculture products, to or from the owners farm. Not used in the operations of a common or contract motor carrier; and used within 150 miles of the farmer’s farm. Farmer, as defined by Florida Statute 322.01(18), means a person who grows agricultural products, including aqua cultural, horticultural and forestry products, and, except as provided herein, employees of such persons. The term does not include employees whose primary purpose of employment is the operation of motor vehicles. Recreation Vehicles – A vehicle that is primarily designed as temporary living quarters for recreational, camping, or travel use, which either has its own motive power or is mounted on or Your state may have additional rules that you must also obey. If your license to operate your personal vehicle is revoked, cancelled, or suspended you may not obtain a “hardship” license to operate a CMV. Florida CDL holders are not eligible to elect completion of a driver improvement school to avoid assessment of points for traffic tickets, regardless of whether the violation was committed in a CMV. To obtain a Florida Commercial Driver’s License you must: Be a resident of Florida. Be at least 18 years of age to drive intrastate and 21 years of age to drive interstate. You must be at A Qualified Vehicle is (except as provided below) any Power Unit that is used or intended for use in two or more Member Jurisdictions and that is used for the transportation of persons for hire or designed, used, or maintained primarily for the transportation of property, and: (i) has two Axles and a gross Vehicle weight or registered gross Vehicle weight in (ii) excess of 26,000 pounds (11,793.401 kilograms), or (iii) has three or more Axles, regardless of weight, or (iv) is used in combination, when the gross Vehicle weight of such combination exceeds 26,000 pounds (11,793.401 kilograms). drawn by another vehicle. Recreational vehicletype units, must comply with the length and width provisions of Florida Statutes, 316.515, when traveling on the public roadways of this state. Please see Florida Statutes 320.01 for more information regarding recreation vehicles. Straight Trucks – as defined in 316.033, Florida Statutes, that are exclusively transporting the driver’s own tangible personal property that is not for sale. Fees: Fees for a commercial driver licenses will be $75 for the initial issue and renewal. Fees for customers who have received school bus training and are applying for employment or employed by a public or non-public school system will be $48 for the initial issue and $48 for renewal. Each endorsement is $7. There is a $10 fee for written re-exams and a $20 fee for driving re-exams.

1.5 – International Registration Plan

International Fuel Tax Agreement If you operate a CDL required vehicle in interstate commerce, the vehicle, with few exceptions, is required to be registered under the International Registration Plan (IRP) and the International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA). These federally mandated programs provide for the equitable collection and distribution of vehicle license fees and motor fuels taxes for vehicles traveling throughout the 48 contiguous United States and 10 Canadian provinces. Under the IRP, jurisdictions must register apportioned vehicles which includes issuing license plates and cab cards or proper credentials, calculate, collect and distribute IRP fees, audit carriers for accuracy of reported distance and fees and enforce IRP requirements. Registrant responsibilities under the Plan include applying for IRP registration with base jurisdiction, providing proper documentation for registration, paying appropriate IRP registration fees, properly displaying registration credentials, maintaining accurate distance records, and making records available for jurisdiction review. The basic concept behind IFTA is to allow a licensee (motor carrier) to license in a base jurisdiction for the reporting and payment of motor fuel use taxes. Under the IFTA, a licensee is issued one set of credentials which will authorize operations through all IFTA member jurisdictions. The fuel use taxes collected pursuant to the IFTA are calculated based on the number of miles (kilometers) traveled and the number of gallons (liters) consumed in the member jurisdictions. The licensee files one quarterly tax return with the base jurisdiction by which the licensee will report all operations through all IFTA member jurisdictions. It is the base jurisdiction's responsibility to remit the taxes collected to other member jurisdictions and to represent the other member jurisdictions in the tax collection process, including the performance of audits. An IFTA licensee must retain records to support the information reported on the IFTA quarterly tax return The IRP registrant and the IFTA licensee may be the vehicle owner or the vehicle operator. The requirement for acquiring IRP plates for a vehicle and IFTA license for a motor carrier is determined by the definitions from the IRP Plan and the IFTA for Qualified Vehicle and Qualified Motor Vehicle: For purposes of IRP:

  • 1) Having two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight exceeding 26,000 pounds or 11,797 kilograms; or  At the beginning of the day  When leaving the state or province  At the end of the trip/day Not only do the trips need to be logged, but the fuel purchases need to be documented as well. You must obtain a receipt for all fueling and include it with your completed IVDR.
  • 2) Is used in combination, when the weight of such combination exceeds 26,000 pounds or 11,797 kilograms gross vehicle or registered gross vehicle weight. Qualified Motor Vehicle does not include recreational vehicles. If the vehicle you operate is registered under IRP and you are a motor carrier licensed under IFTA, then you are required to comply with the mandatory record keeping requirements for operating the vehicle. A universally accepted method of capturing this information is through the completion of an Individual Vehicle Distance Record (IVDR), sometimes times referred to as a Driver Trip Report. This document reflects the distance traveled and fuel purchased for a vehicle that operates interstate under apportioned (IRP) registration and IFTA fuel tax credentials. Make sure that any trips that you enter are always filled out in descending order and that your trips include all state/provinces that you traveled through on your route. There are different routes that a driver may take, and most of the miles may be within one state or province. Whether or not the distance you travel is primarily in one jurisdiction or spread among several jurisdictions, all information for the trip must be recorded. This includes the dates, the routes, odometer readings and fuel purchases. By completing this document in full and keeping all records required by both the IRP and the IFTA, you will have ensured that you and your company are in Although the actual format of the IVDR may vary, the information that is required for proper record keeping does not. In order to satisfy the requirements for Individual Vehicle Distance Records, these documents must include the following information: Distance Per Article IV of the IRP Plan (i) Date of trip (starting and ending) (ii) Trip origin and destination – City and State or Province (iii) Route(s) of travel (iv) Beginning and ending odometer or hubometer reading of the trip (v) Total distance traveled (vi) In-Jurisdiction distance (vii) Power unit number or vehicle identification number. Fuel Per Section P560 of the IFTA Procedures Manual .300 An acceptable receipt or invoice must include, but shall not be limited to, the following: .005 Date of purchase .010 Seller's name and address .015 Number of gallons or liters purchased; .020 Fuel type .025 Price per gallon or liter or total amount of sale .030 Unit number or other unique vehicle identifier .035 Purchaser's name While similar, the Qualified Motor Vehicle in IFTA means a motor vehicle used, designed, or maintained for transportation of persons or property and: An example of an IVDR that must be completed in its entirety for each trip can be found in Figure 1 below. Each individual IVDR should be filled out for only one vehicle. The rules to follow when trying to determine how and when to log an odometer reading are the following: Figure 1 – Individual Vehicle Mileage & Fuel Record (Example)
CDL manual figure

compliance with all State and Provincial laws surrounding fuel and distance record keeping requirements. The IVDR serves as the source document for the calculation of fees and taxes that are payable to the jurisdictions in which the vehicle is operated, so these original records must be maintained for a minimum of four years. In addition, these records are subject to audit by the taxing jurisdictions. Failure to maintain complete and accurate records could result in fines, penalties and suspension or revocation of IRP registrations and IFTA licenses. For additional information on the IRP and the requirements related to the IRP, contact your base jurisdiction motor vehicle department or IRP, Inc. the official repository for the IRP. Additional information can be found on the IRP, Inc. website at www.irponline.org. There is a training video on the website home page available in English, Spanish and French For additional information on IFTA and the requirements related to IFTA, contact the appropriate agency in your base jurisdiction. You will also find useful information about the Agreement at the official repository of IFTA at http://www.iftach.org/index.php.

Keep Studying — Florida CDL Resources